2019 RCFS/RAPS Conference at Baha Mar

Following the success of the first RCFS conference last year, the Society for Financial Studies is hosting a joint RCFS/RAPS conference at Nassau in the Bahamas from February 15 to 17, 2019. The sponsoring editors are: (RCFS) Andrew Ellul, Isil Erel, Gregor Matvos, Uday Rajan, and (RAPS) Jeffrey Pontiff, Hui Chen, Thierry Foucault, and Nikolai Roussanov. The submission period is September 7 – November 1, 2018. The Call for Papers may be viewed here.

Submission Fees for Dual Submission Papers

Please be advised of our new policy regarding dual submission papers. If your dual submission paper is invited to continue the submission process with the journal, the submission fee will be waived for the first round of submission to the journal. If there are subsequent rounds of submission, the standard submission fee will be required. This differs from our prior policy in which the fees were waived for dual submission papers for subsequent rounds of submission. This change is to help cover the cost of referee fees. If you have any questions about whether you need to pay a fee, please contact Managing Editor Jaclyn Einstein before completing your submission.

15th Annual Meeting of the Financial Research Association

The 15th Annual Meeting of the Financial Research Association will feature a dual submission option with RAPS and RCFS. The deadline for paper submissions is August 31, 2018. The conference will take place December 8 and 9, 2018, at the Bellagio Hotel, in Las Vegas, Nevada. The Call for Papers may be viewed here.

Executive Editor Wayne Ferson

Photo courtesy of Financial Markets Research Center at Vanderbilt. Credit: Chad Driver Productions.

Wayne Ferson recently completed his second term as the Executive Editor of The Review of Asset Pricing Studies and, consequently, retired from that position in December 2017. Wayne was recruited to become the founding Executive Editor of The Review of Asset Pricing Studies and the first issue was published in December 2011. From the beginning of his work on the journal, Wayne was focused on creating a topflight journal, not just starting an additional journal, which was a vision consistent with that of the Founders of the Society of Financial Studies when they created The Review of Financial Studies over 30 years ago. Wayne spearheaded an effort to attract high quality submissions to RAPS and was consistently contacting authors to consider the journal. Wayne was nonstop, tireless, and dedicated to the journal, spending many hours reviewing, editing, and attending conferences to solicit papers. He was innovative in collaborations among himself and his co-editors in considering how to attract additional submissions. Wayne’s contributions to the Society of Financial Studies went beyond his service as Associate Editor of RFS (1992-1994), Editor of RFS (1996-1999), and his more than 6 years as Executive Editor of RAPS. For example, he also helped Matt Spiegel come up with the idea of dual submissions, an innovation that has significantly enhanced the SFS journals. We thank Wayne for his dedication and contributions to furthering knowledge in finance.


Editorial Team Changes

RAPS is pleased to announce that Hui Chen will be joining our team as an Editor. We thank Raman Uppal, who will be retiring from his role as an Editor.

RAPS welcomes the following Associate Editors: Pierre Collin-Dufresne, Hanno Lustig, Christopher Malloy, and Allan Timmermann.

The following Associate Editors have been renewed for three-year terms: Kerry Back, Joel Hasbrouck, Albert Menkveld, and Stavros Panageas.

All changes are effective July 1, 2018.

Winners of the RAPS Awards

The winners of the RAPS Awards were announced at the Awards Reception at SFS Cavalcade North America on May 23. We are pleased to share the winners:

Best Paper Award
“Crowded Positions: An Overlooked Systemic Risk for Central Clearing Parties”
Albert Menkveld
Prize: $20,000

Referee of the Year Awards
Martijn Cremers, Roger Edelen
Prizes: $1000

Rising Scholar Award
“The Cross-Section of Expected Returns in the Secondary Corporate Loan Market”
Mehdi Beyhaghi and Sina Ehsani
Prize: $5000

Congratulations to all our award winners!

For past award history, please visit our Awards page.